The Media Mix

Advertising is a multi billion pound industry with many different media vehicles available. The majority of an advertising budget is spent on the actual media. This is why media planning is so important, having the knowledge to be able to carefully plan and negotiate discount media is vital. Media planners specialise in media research, analysis, planning, scheduling and buying.

Media Jargon

CPT or CPM (Cost per Thousand)

Cost per thousand is the price it costs for 1000 ad impressions. For example if an advertisement costs £500 and it is expected to be viewed 10,000 times the CPT will be £50

 (10,000/1000 = 10) (£500/10= £50)

OTS (Opportunities to see)

Opportunity to see is the number of times your advertisement could be seen by your target audience.

TVR’s or GPR’s (TV rating points) (Gross rating points)

1% of a target audience is referred to as one TVR or one GPR point, the TVR point is then multiplied by the OTS to give you your TV rating points or Gross rating points. For example 40% of your target audience will equal 40 TVR points x by 3 OTS will equal 120, so the TVR or GPR will be 120.

Impacts

Impacts are referred to as the total number of people who have seen an advertisement multiplied by the number of time they have seen the ad. For example if 1000 people have seen and advertisement 4 times then the total number of impacts that advertisement has had is 4000.


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